Christopher Hey – Application Management Services – IBM Apprenticeship – August 2011 – present

I joined the IBM Apprentice Scheme in August 2011, after successfully getting through the application process and finally an IBM Assessment day. I was excited to join so jumped at the opportunity to start in IBM Farnborough.

IBM has multiple business lines and I joined as a member of Global Business Services and more specifically in Application Management Services. I work for a large Public Sector client where I provide support and solutions, as well develop applications to improve them day by day.

I’m somewhat limited on what projects within the account I can talk about due to confidentiality but I can say that I have worked with a great deal of programs and applications. I have become knowledgeable in SQL, Datawarehouses, CloudComputing, Records management, Microsoft Access and Excel and much more!

As an apprentice we not only gain a qualification alongside our project but we also get to go on several client interaction courses as part of the scheme. These courses teach us the skills in an artificial environment but are directly relatable to my day-to-day job. I speak with the client daily and the courses the IBM Apprenticeship scheme provide allow me to meet and interact with many apprentices and graduates which helps me expand my network and meet more people in my situation.

Since joining, I have been given the opportunity to join multiple projects and IBM is very supportive of you taking the time to look for your own. After two successful interviews for other roles, I went full circle and the person who did my interview was determined to snatch me up again and offered me a great role working and developing new skills for another project for our client. This year I’m looking forward to developing my skills in .net and multiple record management and build development systems.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

