Are you being SMART? – Craig Wilkinson

We are now well past that special time of year when we reflect on the year gone by before quickly stuffing our faces with turkey, sprouts and pigs-in-blankets or guzzling down that all-important end of year bubbly.  Admit it, during the Christmas period you found yourself thinking back over 2014 wishing you had done something better or different and now seek to rectify it in 2015, only to have a plethora of different goals and aspirations which, when you think about it even more, are unrealistic. However, there are those humble S.M.A.R.T (Specific, Measured, Achievable, Realistic, Timely) goals which still make it through that crazy selection process and form what could be a great year ahead (or five or ten in this case). Whether you are that reflective person or not, I hope you find at least some inspiration from my goals below:

By the end of 2015, I would like to have achieved the following goals:

  • Passing my driving test (hopefully at the third time of asking)
  • Completed all compulsory Apprentice education to a high grade
  • Be more confident in my abilities and self-belief
  • Achieved an industry-standard qualification in Testing and Infrastructure
  • Become more productive and less ‘leaving things to the last minute’
  • Being part of a high profile giveback project (this blog hopefully) and with that meeting more IBM and Client senior management
  • Not given up on my gym regime
  • Started travelling to different places in the world

By the end of 2020, I would like to have achieved the following goals:

  • Been promoted smoothly out of Foundation and the Apprenticeship scheme
  • Become a manager
  • Worked on a project abroad
  • Stayed in hotels/hostels across Europe and visited some grand places
  • Become a good example and role model of the result of experiencing the apprenticeship scheme

I don’t usually like thinking too far ahead as anything could happen! However, for now, I would be happy if I had the following by the end of 2025:

  • Worked on many great projects with a substantial list of reliable contacts and left a good reputation with my clients and colleagues
  • Earning a good salary without sacrificing job satisfaction
  • My own family and house after travelling the world and seeing many good sights.
  • My own hover-board and Portsmouth FC back in the Premier League.

Now that was exhausting!

In my opinion, while it’s great to have goals for one, two and maybe three years ahead, I think it’s a good idea to not get carried away with an ‘ideal’ picture of where you want to be in five to ten years’ time as anything could happen and you will experience and enjoy new things along the way which could change whichever path you think you’re headed for. By all means set yourself a long-term goal, but always remain open-minded! Back when I left school in 2010, I always had a plan to go to University and hopefully get a good job in a good company, the thought never even crossed my mind that I’d be working at IBM at my age, yet here I am and my future goals have been changed completely.

I hope whatever you choose to set yourself this year, that it works out for the best and you enjoy every moment of it but also allow for a bit of serendipity!

Until my next post,

Craig Wilkinson

Tagged: , , ,

One thought on “Are you being SMART? – Craig Wilkinson

  1. […] If you remember at the beginning of the year, we ran a mini-series on Goals and Ambitions, and every Apprentice blogger provided a breakdown of their goals for 2015, 2020 and 2025. If you don’t remember, then refresh your memory by looking at the goals I’ve set myself for those years here. […]

Leave a Reply

