Defining aspirations – Josh White

I’m not going to rely on luck anymore, I need to define my career goals and aspirations.

 

Like myself, have you ever felt like you are just drifting through life without any real direction as to where you are going or where you want to be? It’s fine to do that for a while but now has come the point where it would not be wise to do that anymore. If I don’t know where I want to be in 5/10/20 years time how will I know how to get there?

I have been in IBM for just over 2 years now and have picked up some good skills and met some great people. I have 1 year left in Foundation and I need a plan.

2/3 years ago when I leapt into working life after my A Levels I thought that if I worked hard in whatever job/role I had I would get recognised for that hard work and promoted. I found out the hard way in my previous role before joining IBM. I had a role which meant that I was being relied upon heavily to perform as no one else was able to do that role and there was a lot of attention on myself because if I did not do my job well it would have a big impact on the company. It was nice for a while to have that pressure but I came to realise that my hard work was not getting any recognition apart from a few team member of the month awards. My next step up would be to move to Team Leader or Assistant Team Leader but there was no one to take over my work so I was stuck. That is when I decided to take a step down and join a new company (IBM) and also take a cut in salary, but I could see what potential moving had for me and instead of walking down a narrow alley way I now had a whole city to wander around (sorry for the cringey analogy).

 

So, now I have a city to wander around I need to decide where to go. Once I know that I can figure out how to get there.

What do I enjoy doing? What don’t I like doing? What things are important to me in life? These are the sort of questions I need to ask myself. I may not have all of the answers now which is OK but the more people I speak to and the more skills/roles I can touch on whilst I am in Foundation at IBM the clearer my goals and aspirations will come. I don’t want to make some up just for the sake of it, they need to come naturally to me.

 

Like I have said at the start of my post, it has been easy for me to sit back and see what comes my way but I need to step outside of my comfort zone now.

 

I hope this post inspires you to do the same if you are in a similar situation to me and if you have already been here feel free to give me some hints and tips to help me along the way.

 

LinkedIn- https://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=153045898&authType=NAME_SEARCH&authToken=0qxd&locale=en_US&trk=tyah2&trkInfo=idx%3A1-1-1%2CtarId%3A1424953107332%2Ctas%3Ajosh

 

 

Happy reading, Josh.

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Defining aspirations – Josh White

  1. Paul Champion March 16, 2015 at 11:03 am Reply
  2. apprenticejoshw1 March 17, 2015 at 10:56 am Reply

    Thanks Paul

Leave a Reply

